International cooperation / CEMR

Council of European Municipalities and Regions is the largest organisation of local and regional authorities in Europe. More than 50 national associations of cities, municipalities and regions from 37 countries are taking part in CEMR. Mentioned organisations represent approximately 100.000 local and regional authorities.

Foundation of the Council initiated by few European majors took place in 1951 in Gent. Later, the organisation changed initial interested and became focused towards regions.

Main aim of the Council is to promote integration of Europe based on local and regional authorities and democracy. To fulfil previously mentioned aims, Council strives to empower local and regional authorities and their contribution to the European law and politics.

CEMR consists of two main bodies; Policy Committee and Executive Bureau.  As the main CEMR’s body, Policy Committee meets two times a year and is composed of representatives of each nation elected for three years.

Croatian County Association became a member of the Council of European Municipalities and Regions at the conference in Paris held on 8th and 9th November 2008.


CEMR’s Policy Committee representatives


-elected until December 2019


1. Zlatko Komadina, Primorje - Gorski Kotar County prefect

2. Ivanka Roksandić, president of Sisak - Moslavina County Assembly 

3. Igor Andrović, Virovitica - Podravina County prefect  


1. Marina Medarić, Primorje - Gorski Kotar deputy county prefect

2. Ivo Žinić, Sisak - Moslavina County prefect

3. Miran Janečić, president of Virovitica - Podravina County Assembly


Coordinators: Melita Pavlek, Croatian County Association

                       Mateja Jalušić, Croatian County Association